Chennai, the capital City of Tamil Nadu is the fourth largest Metropolitan City in India. The Chennai Metropolitan Area (CMA) comprises the city of Chennai, 16 Municipalities, 20 Town Panchayats and 214 Village Panchayats in 10 Panchayat Unions. The extent of CMA is 1189 The setting of Chennai is presented in the Figure.

The CMA falls in three Districts of the Tamil Nadu State viz. Chennai District,part of Thiruvallur District, and part of Kancheepuram District. The extent of the Chennai District (covered in Chennai Municipal Corporation area) is 176 and comprises 55 revenue villages in five Taluks [viz. (i) Fort-Tondiarpet Taluk, (ii) Perambur-Purasawalkam Taluk, (iii) Egmore-Nungambakkam Taluk, (iv) Mambalam-Guindy Taluk and (v) Mylapore-Triplicane Taluk]. In Thiruvallur District out of total district area of 3427, 637 in Ambattur, Thiruvallur, Ponneri and Poonamallee taluks fall in CMA. In Kancheepuram Districtout of 4433, 376 in Tambaram, Sriperumbudur and Chengalpattu Taluks fall in the Metropolitan area.

Enlarge the map


APPAS precheck - software uploaded, which will enable you to check the drawings for its compatibility

It is mandatory for the applicants to submit their PPA along with the computerized drawing as per APPAS format

APPAS User Manual

Drawal of Lot held on 06.11.2014 for MM Nagar / Gudalur Scheme - Selected Applicants List

Proforma for Refund of SD/CD

Refund of SD/CD

Exemption of Buildings under section 113-C

Bribery is against the Law

Revised Delegation of Powers given to the new Chennai Corporation comprising 15 zones

Chennai Outer Ring Road Phase-II formation of road connecting NH 205, NH 5 and Tiruvottiyur - Ponneri - Panchetty Road from Nemilichery to Minjur

Abstract of Survey conducted in T.Nagar during August 2007 as per the decision of the Monitoring Committee

Development of Satellite Inter City Bus Terminals at Madhavaram and Velachery

Revised Delegation of Powers to all Local Bodies for issue of Planning Permission for Ordinary Buildings

Revised delegation of Powers to the Commissioner, St. Thomas Mount Panchayat Union for issue of Planning Permission in CRZ and Aquifer Recharge Area

Delegation of Powers to Local Bodies within CMA under TamilNadu Acts of No.61 of 2008

Report of the State Level Committee on Road Connectivity and Traffic Improvements in Chennai

G.O. 261, Dt. 17.12.08 Constitution of State level committee on Road Connectivity and Traffic Improvements in Chennai

Planning Permission-Delegation of Powers to the Officials of Local Bodies and Chennai Corporation in CMA

Public Notice About Corruption and Malpractices Complaint

Formation of two new Corporations in CMA

Transfer of Development Rights Amendment to Development Regulation GO Ms. No. 140 H&UD Department, Dated 06-08-09

Transfer of Development Rights Amendment to Development Regulation GO Ms No. 141 H&UD Department, Dated 06-08-09

Transfer of Development Rights Guidelines

Infrastructure and Amenities Charges - Revised rates of charges and mode of payment - G.O.Ms.No.161 H&UD Department, Dated 09-09-2009

Approval of Guidelines for Premium FSI - G.O.Ms.No.163 H&UD Department, Dated 09-09-2009

View All

Review Meeting by Thiru. R. Vaithilingam , Honb'le Minisiter for Housing and urban Development on the functioning of CMDA held on 06.11.2014. Thiru A. Karthik I.A.S and other officials were present.

Total Visits 
Link to TN Portal
Copyright            Hyperlink Policy            Terms & Conditions            Privacy

This is the official Website of Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority(CMDA),
a Public Sector Undertaking of the Government of Tamilnadu under the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development Department.
Website hosted & maintained by National Informatics Centre, Chennai