Collage of CMDA Building, CMBT, MRTS, ORR and CMDA Expansion in English and Tamil


Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority (CMDA) was constituted as an ad-hoc body in 1972 and become statutory body in 1974 vide the Tamil Nadu Town and Country Planning Act 1971. It was established under the sub-section 1 of the section 9 –A (2) of the Act and consisting of the following members:


1. Hon’ble Minister for Housing and Urban Development Chairman
2. Vice- Chairman, CMDA Vice Chairman
3. Member-Secretary, CMDA Member
4. Secretary to Government H&UD Member
5. Secretary to Government, Finance Dept. Member
6. Secretary to Government, Industries Dept. Member
7. Secretary to Government, Transport Dept. Member
8. Commissioner, Corporation of Chennai Member
9. Managing Director CMWSS Board Member
10. Director , Town & Country Planning Member
11. Chief Urban Planner , CMDA Member
12. Chief Engineer, Highways & Rural Works Department Member
13. Chief Architect to Government Member
14. Joint Director, Town & Country Planning Member
15. Chairman, Tamilnadu Housing Board Member
16. Chairman Tamilnadu Slum Clearance Board Member
17. Member of the State Legislative Assembly 2 Members
18. Representatives of Local Bodies in CMA 4 Members
19. Member-Secretary Tamil nadu Pollution Control Board Special Invitee